What is Digital Signature?

Digital Signature Certificate is commonly used to sign documents for GST, Income Tax, MCA(ROC), DGFT and Tender bids. Other uses include signing on invoices, contracts, corporate documents, Cersai, FIU, and UIDAI.
Digital Signature is legally binding. Only a licensed Certifying Authority can issue Digital Signature Certificates.

Which Class of DSC to buy?

There is only one class of DSC to buy. CCA has simplified the DSC Classes in 2021. Only Class-3 DSC is available to purchase for both individuals and organisations. Renewals or new sales of Class 2 is discontinued.
Class-3 DSC is widely accepted for most purposes like Tax (Income Tax or GST), EPFO, Director's eKYC, Register New Business on MCA portal, Import Export Code, Sign Invoices, EPFO, etc.
To submit Tenders online, Government eProcurement portals encourage applicants to use Class-3 with encryption combo for submitting bids to tender portal if TIA requires so.

My DSC has expired. How to renew?

Once Digital Signature has expired, applicants cannot sign new documents anymore. Digital Signature must be renewed to continue signing documents.
The renewal process is exactly same as buying New Digital Signature. DSC is issued with validity of 1 to 3 years.

Documents Required for Digital Signature

  • PAN Card
  • Passport
  • Driving License
  • Any other photo id issued by the Government of India
  • Aadhaar Card
  • Driving Licence
  • Voter ID Card
  • Ration Card
  • Recent Utility Bill


  • Certificate of Incorporation
  • Memorandum of Articles of Association
  • Registered partnership deed
  • Acts or other valid business license document